Archives of Nethys

Pathfinder 1E | Pathfinder 2E | Starfinder

<- Return to All Rules (Group by Source)
<- Return to Character Advancement

All Rules in Character Advancement

+ An entry marked with this has additional sections within it.

Multiclassing

Source PRPG Core Rulebook pg. 30
Instead of gaining the abilities granted by the next level in your character’s current class, he can instead gain the 1stlevel abilities of a new class, adding all of those abilities to his existing ones. This is known as “multiclassing.”

For example, let’s say a 5th-level fighter decides to dabble in the arcane arts, and adds one level of wizard when he advances to 6th level. Such a character would have the powers and abilities of both a 5th-level fighter and a 1st-level wizard, but would still be considered a 6th-level character. (His class levels would be 5th and 1st, but his total character level is 6th.) He keeps all of his bonus feats gained from 5 levels of fighter, but can now also cast 1st-level spells and picks an arcane school. He adds all of the hit points, base attack bonuses, and saving throw bonuses from a 1st-level wizard on top of those gained from being a 5th-level fighter.

Note that there are a number of effects and prerequisites that rely on a character’s level or Hit Dice. Such effects are always based on the total number of levels or Hit Dice a character possesses, not just those from one class. The exception to this is class abilities, most of which are based on the total number of class levels that a character possesses of that particular class.